Cubs sign 15 Draft picks

Cubs sign 15 Draft picks

CHICAGO -- In addition to signing No. 1 pick Hayden Simpson, the Cubs announced on Saturday that they have reached agreement with 15 of their 50 selections in the 2010 First-Year Player Draft, including seven of the first 14.

Simpson, 21, the 16th player taken overall, agreed to a $1.06 million deal with the Cubs, and will eventually be assigned to Class A Boise.

Others to reach agreement include fourth-round selection Hunter Ackerman, a left-handed pitcher from Louisburg College. The 6-foot-2, 190-pound freshman from Midlothian, Va., was 8-1 with a 1.41 ERA in 11 games. He struck out 92 over 57 2/3 innings while walking 24. His best pitch is his changeup, coach John Thomas said.

"There are a lot of guys who can throw hard, but Hunter has command," Thomas said when Ackerman was selected. "That's what makes him effective."

Also reaching agreements were eighth-round pick Cameron Greathouse, a left-handed pitcher from Gulf Coast Community College; right-handed pitcher Aaron Kurcz, a 10th-round selection from College of Southern Nevada and left-handed pitcher Eric Jokisch, taken in the 11th round out of Northwestern.

Two high school pitchers also have signed: Austin Reed, a right-handed pitcher from Rancho Cucamonga, who was the 12th-round pick, and Colin Richardson, a right-hander from Winter Haven, Fla., who was taken in the 14th round.

Here's a list of the Cubs' First-Year Player Draft picks who have agreed to terms:

Round 1: RHP Hayden Simpson, Southern Arkansas

Round 4: LHP Hunter Ackerman, Louisburg, College

Round 8: LHP Cameron Greathouse, Gulf Coast Community College

Round 10: RHP Aaron Kurcz, College of Southern Nevada

Round 11: LHP Eric Jokisch, Northwestern University

Round 12: RHP Austin Reed, Rancho Cucamonga (Calif.) High School

Round 14: RHP Colin Richardson, Winter Haven (Fla.) High School

Round 19: RHP Dustin Fitzgerald, Hill Junior College

Round 20: IF Ryan Cuneo, University of Delaware

Round 22: C Jeff Vigurs, Bryant University

Round 23: RHP Matthew Loosen, Jacksonville University

Round 25: RHP Eric Rice, Palm Beach Community College.

Round 28: RHP Joseph Zeller, The Masters College

Round 32: LHP Brent Ebinger, Lambuth University

Round 34: IF Dustin Harrington, East Carolina University