Barrett, Lee named Silver Sluggers

Barrett, Lee named Silver Sluggers

For the first time since the award was first handed out 26 seasons ago, the Cubs have a pair of Silver Sluggers.

First baseman Derrek Lee and catcher Michael Barrett were among eight first-time National League honorees for the award, based on a vote by Major League managers and coaches and presented annually since 1980 by the makers of Louisville Slugger baseball bats.

Lee also won the 2005 Silver Bat award, given annually to each league's batting champion. Lee led the NL with a .335 average, and also set career highs with 46 home runs, 107 RBIs and 50 doubles.

Barrett led all NL catchers with an .824 OPS and hit 16 home runs with 61 RBIs, second in both categories to the Mets' Mike Piazza.

Major League coaches and managers voted during the regular season for the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues. Voters were not allowed to select players on their own team.

Lee will be presented with his Silver Slugger Award at a ceremony early in the 2006 season. The award was instituted by the Hillerich & Bradsby Co. in 1980 as an extension of the Silver Bat Award, presented annually to the batting champions in each league.

2005 Silver Slugger Award winners
American League National League
1B - Mark Teixeira, TEX
2B - Alfonso Soriano, TEX
3B - Alex Rodriguez, NYY
SS - Miguel Tejada, BAL
OF - Vladimir Guerrero, LAA
OF - Manny Ramirez, BOS
OF - Gary Sheffield, NYY
C   - Jason Varitek, BOS
DH - David Ortiz, BOS
1B - Derrek Lee, CHC
2B - Jeff Kent, LAD
3B - Morgan Ensberg, HOU
SS - Felipe Lopez, CIN
OF - Andruw Jones, ATL
OF - Miguel Cabrera, FLA
OF - Carlos Lee, MIL
C   - Michael Barrett, CHC
P   - Jason Marquis, STL
Complete 2005 coverage | All time winners > 

Other 2005 NL Silver Slugger winners include Dodgers second baseman Jeff Kent, Astros third baseman Morgan Ensberg, Reds shortstop Felipe Lopez, Brewers outfielder Carlos Lee, Braves outfielder Andruw Jones, Marlins outfielder Miguel Cabrera and Cardinals pitcher Jason Marquis.

All but Kent were first-time winners.

Adam McCalvy is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.